top of page

Alien NYX Liquid Suede Matte Lipstick

Last night while wandering around Yorkdale mall, I found myself drifting into Sephora, dragging my two male friends in there with me. After promising myself that I was only going to be in there for a maximum of 5 minutes, I stumbled across the glorious Kat Von D display, with her Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks being the first items I looked at. The one shade that intrigued me the most happened to be the shade Witches. It was the deepest black, that could have doubled as a magnificent opaque black eyeliner. So, of course I pick up the tube and smear it all over the back of my hand running for a disposable lipstick applicator, not being able to wait to put it on my face. As soon as I swiped the applicator across my lips I fell in love. I complete my application, run back over to the display and could feel my heart fall as I saw the $24 price tag on the lipstick. Going through my options, I almost run out of Sephora as I remember that there is a brand new NYX cosmetics store right down the hallway.

Once getting into NYX it took roughly 45 seconds to ask a sales associate, pick up the product, rub more on the back of my hand, fall in love all over again and purchase the tube for $10.00 CDN. At this point I could not be happier.

After getting home I applied the Liquid Lipstick, and although I was slightly disappointed that the colour wasn't as pigmented as the Kat Von D, it was a quick fix to deepen the colour by applying a layer of black eye shadow directly on top of the lipstick which also helped to set it and increase the long lasting colour effects.

10/10

If youve never purchased one of the NYX Liquid Suede Matte Lipstick, go purchase at least one so you can fall in love with it as well! <3 ( Although beware, they are addictive. Once you purchase one, you will quickly find yourself purchasing multiple tubes in every colour!)


bottom of page